Research for Illustrators’ website

Level 5, Subject

I’m so glad that we are going to make our own Portfolio Website. It is a public platform for people outside the illustration world to get to know our illustrators more easily. It’s a strong way to introduce ourselves through visual language.

Lisk Feng

Lisk Feng is an award-winning illustrator who is initially from China, and now a New York-based freelance illustrator. I started to follow her Instagram, her works, her news since a few years ago. I can see how she has grown and developed over these years. I thought she set a great example for illustrators who initially from China and studied illustration courses abroad. I think I’ve learned a lot from the way she creates her work, the way she thinks and exposes herself to the world.

Screen Shot 2019-06-09 at 23.09.17

 

I like the form she set with her website. We can see the newest or strongest work at first sight, on the home page. It’s very simple and clear. The audience can get the most important information as soon as possible. And the column beside can be folded and spread. So people can easy to find more details about the parts they are interested in. However, there’s a problem I’m always thinking about, what if as the time passes by, the column will be too long to read? (But till now, I don’t have much work to consider this issue, I really enjoy browsing through her website)

Martin Haake

This is an illustrator I knew from the Photoshop workshop with Jo. First of all, I really in love with his work. The way he works with mixed media, such as combine both collage, different handwriting, and textures, impressed me a lot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of the most special reasons why I like his website is that he has not only the column on the top right corner with texts but also has the pictures with texts at the bottom. Even though it repeats twice, I reckon it’s to emphasize his work in this way. People who get the connection with his works will never lose any part because of the website setting. Besides, when we go through the second ‘layer’ of the website, we can know each project’s name by moving the mouse, no need to open a new tab. What’s more, he also shows the news about him and the serious Site Notice & Privacy Policy. It shows how his work applies in real contexts and remind people again that everybody must respect his copyright. So we can know that he is a professional and mature illustrator in this way.