Reflective statement for Subject Level 5

Level 5, Subject

Although this is the second year of our illustration course, it is my first year to study illustration.  This year, everything here looks new to me. Including the whole circumstances, all the people around me, the things I need to learn and try, are totally brand new to me. However, I love change, the challenge is learning, and I enjoyed all the things I met and experienced.

We had three modules. The Subject one is the normal illustration project. The field is a module for us to explore the world outside illustration or how they link back with our illustration work. We can work in a transdisciplinary way, use different ways to create our artwork. Besides, it’s quite nice that we can meet new peers outside our course. The constellation is a module for reading, writing, improving our researching way. They are all looking separate from each other but they have a very strong connection with one another. There are six main projects within the subject module. They are Illustr-Ted, Word as Image, Penguin Project, Creative Conscience, Creative Products and Drawing from Observation.

At first, I was so stressed and struggled with everything. Especially the Ted-talk Project, which was the first illustration project I got and it was a nightmare to me. At that time I couldn’t totally understand what is the submission requirement, the deliverable format, the way how we hand on the final work. Besides, Ted-talk project is an open and free project and it lasted nearly more than a month. Because I had no experience before and had no idea of what was my strength or my preference. I didn’t have much strong work which can represent and express myself(maybe I had but I didn’t realize). So I had to try, think and research a lot. However, I spent lots of time doing useless research and then time passed by. I could only keep working while worrying and do nothing. But later, with time passed by, I gradually adapted to not only studying but also normal life in Cardiff. Now I can arrange myself much better than before.

I like to do my work in quiet studio and I really enjoy the vibe we working together. The most valuable and important treasures I got this year are my friends. We are always together during the long independence studying time. We can help and learn from each other. I am so appreciate that they all gave me so much patience. They are willing to listen to me, chat with me and explain everything in a clear and simple way. So both my oral English and my English listening are making great progress. I become more confident with my work and more calm with my life. I felt more settled down. I started to enjoy the course.

I was confused about the drawing style before. I don’t have a specific preference and I can work in many different ways. And now I realized that after I created more artworks and looked back to them, I can summerise or classify them. I can see my working way. It’s slow but precise, so I need to spend more time and concentration. I need to be patient and do more work.

I made an animation, some small comics, some gifs and editorail illustration this year. For the future pathway I will absulutly go for narrative one. I really want to create children’s books and editorail illustration in the future.